More Options

CCSD Welcomes New Board Members

CCSD Welcomes New Board Members

School Board Meeting

On Monday, November 10, the Charleston County School District’s Board of Trustees officially welcomed four new members.


With family and friends at their sides, Elizabeth Kandrac, Chris Collins, Ann Oplinger and Chris Fraser were sworn in by Circuit Court Judge, the Honorable Deadra L. Jefferson.


Also on Monday night, Toya Green-returning Board member representing downtown Charleston-was voted Board Chair by her peers. Gregg Meyers, a longstanding Board member, was voted the Board’s new Vice Chair.


In her first statement as Board Chair, Ms. Green spoke about the importance of working together, empowering parents, and believing that CCSD can be the best district in the country. She also spoke directly to students, saying “It is no longer a mere cliché to say that if you study hard and do your very best in school, you can be a future president of the United States.”


Following the swearing-in ceremony, Dr. McGinley welcomed the new Board members and highlighted the important work ahead. “We are honored to have you on the Board and I greatly look forward to working with all of you,” she said. “Never before has public education been more important to our future competitiveness and economic well-being locally and nationally.”


Copyright © 2018, Charleston County School District