More Options

Who Will be the Next CCSD District Teacher of the Year? 5/10/2013

Who Will be the Next CCSD District Teacher of the Year?

May 10, 2013 -- We're expecting record crowds for CCSD Educator Night at the Charleston RiverDogs this evening, where our Teacher of the Year finalists and Rookies of the Year will be honored, and the CCSD District Teacher of the Year will be announced.

Our five finalists, Angie Grimes (Morningside Middle), Kirk Lindgren (School of the Arts), Paul Pallagi (Ladson Elementary), Lisa Trott (Ashley River Creative Arts Elementary), and Melissa Yarbrough (St. Andrew's School of Math and Science) must be getting excited to find out who will be crowned District Teacher of the Year! The Teacher of the Year will receive a free year lease on a brand new Volvo from Volvo of Charleston, and $250 from Heritage Trust Federal Credit Union! (Watch the video below, or read more about the finalists here.)

Our 2013 “Rookies of the Year” will be honored at Educator Night tonight, and include Early Childhood Rookie of the Year, Colleen Krumm from Sullivan's Island Elementary; Elementary Rookie of the Year, Lauren Elizabeth Gudger from Pinehurst Elementary; Middle School Rookie of the Year, Kristine M. Peterson from C.E. Williams Middle; and High School Rookie of the Year, Luke Hamilton from West Ashley High.

Watch the Video of Our TOY Finalists!


We thank Rick Hendrick (Volvo of Charleston) for his continued partnership with CCSD in recognizing and rewarding our teacher leaders, and thank you to Heritage Trust and all of our business and community partners who help support teacher recognition throughout the year.

Copyright © 2018, Charleston County School District